CELEBRATING NIGERIAN CLASSICAL MUSIC GREATS – Jude Nwankwo

ARTISTE OF THE WEEK – Jude Nwankwo
The artiste of this week is a thorough musician. Not everyone knows him, maybe because he’s based in what some people might call “village” in the South Eastern part of Nigeria, but for those who do, I’m sure you’ll agree with me, that this man will put Nigeria on the world map, if things turn out well and on a very good day.

I first met him in 2001 when I visited the Laz Ekwueme Chorale in one of their rehearsals, sitting behind him, I marveled at his round and robust dramatic Tenor voice. If I remember vividly, he was the Chorale’s Librarian as at that time.

The next time we met again was at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka and if there was anyone who made me adapt to life in school, it was him. He was a very bright student of Music, for that reason, every lecturer loved him.

He graduated with First Class honors, finishing as the best graduating student in the department of Music, UNN seconded by Danlami Baba. Over joyed by that feat, the Vice Chancellor then, Venerable, Prof. Osita Nebo, retained him as a Lecturer in the Music Department.
He holds a Masters Degree in Music and a PhD in view.

He is a prolific composer who reminds me of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s simplicity in his works, a fine Tenor Singer and an almost perfect teacher. His knowledge of Harmony, Analysis and Counterpoint is next to none. He is the founder and director of the Jclef Chorale, a fantastic Choir based in Nsukka.
What fascinates me the most about this man, is his Oral Perception prowess. He has the ears of an…….oops… Sorry! I forgot the animal! his ears are so sharp that he could pick out those singers who were going either flat or sharp in our days at the African Chorus, even if he had his eyes shut.

He is currently a Lecturer of Music at the Department of Music, University of Nigeria, Nsukka.

Please put your hands together for this great man of our time.

Jude Osy Nwankwo
I CELEBRATE YOU TODAY.

image

Jude Nwankwo, conducting the Jclef Chorale in a performance.

image

A very humble Jude Nwankwo.

Ifediora, Obinna Maurice
(Baritone)

Musical Society of Nigeria
8/9 Marina, Onikan Lagos.
(±234) 708-708-6669
(+234) 706-338-3135

dasuGarboi@yahoo.com
obislim.baritone@yahoo.com

26 thoughts on “CELEBRATING NIGERIAN CLASSICAL MUSIC GREATS – Jude Nwankwo”

  1. Great guy any day, any time. A true brother and friend and one of the very best both in the theory and practice of choral music.

    Like

  2. The truth is that Jude Nwankwo since i knew him has been a very humble and intelligent chap, it is not a suprise to me that all these praises and qualities are attributed to his person. Jude you are today been honoured for your good works, please and please keep it up. Alex N.

    Like

  3. This is high praise indeed for a man who deserves every accolade he gets. My parish choir in abuja at a stage felt there was a need to compile most of the songs in our repertoire and convert them into staff. Naturally, we had recourse to our own maestro, Everyman Eleanya who in turn introduced us to Jude Nwankwo who I must say exceeded our expectations. He not only converted the songs to staff but solfa notations.Only a man of his class and ingenuity could perform such miracle and in record time. I have met him once but I have no doubt the sky is his beginning. Jude Nwankwo,I celebrate you.

    Like

  4. I agree with you. Jude Nwankwo is a rare gem. He’s is absolutely exceptional. Many choristers will attest to that, especially those who’ve had the opportunity to perform his Alleluia in 7/8 time. His contribution to Nigerian choral music is very much appreciated. FILMStars who’ve experienced him may know him as ‘Chironomy.’ You can google that. Good job Obinna.

    Choristers who are passionate about choral music and by extension koraltimes are also living the music life at Naija Choristers: http://www.naijachoriters.com
    A place for all choirs and choristers.
    Kudos!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jude Nwankwo! Prolific musician! Humble man. I am so proud of him and what he has achieved. He is indeed a beacon of hope for Classical music in Nigeria! Keep representing us well sir!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow! Thanks for your kind words Dupe. I remember vividly how you boosted my morale in 2003 during the rehearsals for St. John’s Passion by Bach. Such an encouragement coming from a superstar to someone trying to find his feet in music is one of the things that laid a solid foundation for whatever I am now musically. Thanks for being one of my role models at my early stages.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s what she goes around doing o! That’s what she knows how to do best, IGE as her name goes is a Shining light. It’s part of her, she doesn’t even know when she does it.

        Like

  5. Am so proud to have you as my lecturer sir, apart from You and Dr Adeogun, am yet to see anyone who would make the learning of tonal harmony, tonal counterpoint and strict counterpoint as easy as you guys make it. I celebrate you for who you are sir. My encounter with you in my year 1 at the music dept greatly transformed me and made me eager to learn more. God bless you sir.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Onye nkem; he is one in a million & a million in one. He taps from the inner GREAT SOURCE. Only the humble & the courageous can walk the path. Jude Onye Nkem, o ga adiri gi na mma.

    Like

  7. Finally we have begun to celebrate our own! I have met Jude just once, when he worked as one of the panelists at the biennial festival of FILM Nigeria. It is commendable that he is receiving these accolades from direct and indirect contacts. Kudos Jude. And kudos to you Nesta for putting up this site.

    Like

  8. Jude is an amazing and humble guy. I remember calling Guchi then to tell him that my sister got an admission in Music department and don’t know who to entrust her in his/her care. He said “Jude is there,he can take care(coach)of her”. I felt relieved and happy and since then he has being doing a great job in her life. God bless you Jude. I celebrate you! We celebrate you!

    Like

  9. Wow! Wow! Wow!
    I’m totally humbly honoured by all these kind words. Thanks to Obinna Ifediora for deeming me fit to be counted among Nigerian classical greats. May you also be greatly celebrated when you least expect it. And to my fans, thanks for the faith you have in me. I’ll always cherish your support. To Everyman, thanks for all the recommendations and connections you have always given to me. I smile to the bank most times because of you. Thank you God for this honour.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. We have been celebrating Nigerian Talents for a while now, having done articles for people like Joseph Oparamanuike, Guchi Egbunine, Peter Sylvanus, Dr. Adeogun, Tobi Kemewerigha, Omo Bello, David Aina, Ernest Bisong and others to mention a few, if you like what we are doing, please support us, we cannot do it without you. Kindly read, Like the post, drop a comment and you have become part of this great work. God bless you.

    Like

  11. Jude Nwankwo is a very talented, yet humble young musician of our age. I remember when I first met him where he showed me his composition in a 7/8 timing. Believe me that was the first time I see a score in that time signature and it was an amazing composition, even now it still is cos the melody still rings in my head. Thumbs up Jude.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Jude, Like I said earlier, you deserve the praises and commendation from everyone. You are indeed a rare breed that appears once in a long while. You are a man who is very versatile in various genres of music. My plea to you is that you establish your own genre of music, something unique and something yet unthought of. I await the establishment of the Jude Osy Nwankwo musical school of thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I dnt really know Jude but the comments I have read so far proves that he is no doubt a great musician. I pray that God gives him more inspiration and transcendent ideas while I continue to anticipate that blessed day I shall be honoured to meet him. Kudos sir.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Wow! Congrats boss. I could write endless eulogies to u but I just bless God for the gift of a man like u to humanity. People dat barely know u call u Mr Jude, but for the fortunate ones like myself, privileged to experience ur indepth and thorough knowledge of music, your humility and undaunted love for ur creator and all around you, we call you daddy and will be eternally grateful to you. ‘The only way to do it well is just to do it well.’ Obeisance Boss.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Mr Jude Ossy Nwankwo is a teacher,a Father and a Friend,who believes in nothing but the best…so inlove with his classical music and is changing the world with it….Sir na aga na anyi na Chukwu kwu gi na azu

    Like

  16. Please am finding it difficult to get the audio of chukwu nna, onye ker’uwa by Mr jude nwankwo.. Please i would love a positive response via my comment . Thank you and God bless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

