CELEBRATING NIGERIAN CLASSICAL MUSIC GREATS – Michael Temidayo Oladugba

ARTISTE OF THE WEEK – Michael Temidayo Oladugba

image

I remember vividly as a young boy growing up in the Boys Brigade Nigeria, where I had picked interest in the Trumpet. It proved to be a very difficult and frustrating instrument for me, as air leaked through my mouth while I played. My peers laughed at me so hard, that I wished for the ground to open up and swallow me. It was very difficult getting my embouchure right, but thank God I wasn’t disgraced, at least I found favour with the Trombone to a great extent and for consolation sake, I played the Euphonium/Tuba with the Symphonic Brass Band for years.

For my ugly experience, I started respecting “Trumpeters”. They are very special people, almost like Eskimos to me. Oh! Pardon my very naive stance on this matter… What will you have me think? after I pushed myself to the limits, just to learn this instrument and “successfully” failed. The man who wields it and plays it well, has got to be a genius to me.. Sorry!! I have no apologies for this “passion-induced naivity”, simply take me as I am.

The artiste of this week, Michael Oladugba is one who made me fall in love with the Trumpet over again, but for my past trauma, I wouldn’t have myself playing it ever again – I think I had enough.

image

Michael Oladugba comes in from a new generation of Classical Musicians. A Native of Owo, in Ondo State Nigeria, Michael was introduced to music at the Salvation Army Surulere corps in 2008 by his friend, Chima Orasibe.

It was at the Salvation Army that young Michael saw an array of Brass Instruments and an opportunity to pick whichever instrument he wanted to learn. So he started off with the Trombone.
He later dumped the Trombone and picked up the Cornet and the rest as they say, is History.

image

Michael, playing at an event

Like the saying goes, “anything worth doing is worth doing well”, Michael sought to get better with his chosen instrument. Yearning for knowledge, he applied to study Music at The Muson School of Music, just three years after he picked the Trumpet and it was there he improved tremendously.

image

On Graduation day at the Muson School of Music.

His Tone, Flexibility, Tonguing, and Technique improved beyond imagination. Michael warmed his way into the hearts of his colleagues and teachers with his newly acquired beautiful tone.

image

Michael in his second year Recital as a student, at the Muson School of Music.

He has since moved to the United States of America, where he is pursuing further Studies on the Trumpet. Michael continues to break boundaries, it is hoped that we shall see a new style of Trumpet playing from this very Dynamic young man.

image

Michael in class with Trumpet Teacher and Maestro, Alan Hood.

image

Michael playing with an Ensemble of Brass players in Dallas, Texas.

Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you… Michael Temidayo Oladugba.

I CELEBRATE YOU TODAY!

Ifediora, Obinna Maurice
(Baritone)

Musical Society of Nigeria
8/9 Marina, Onikan Lagos.
(±234) 708-708-6669
(+234) 706-338-3135

dasuGarboi@yahoo.com
obislim.baritone@yahoo.com

2 thoughts on “CELEBRATING NIGERIAN CLASSICAL MUSIC GREATS – Michael Temidayo Oladugba”

  1. Your journey through music is very inspirational, it motivates an individual to strive hard in order to achieve their desired goal.Thank you Micheal, and keep on fighting for what you love and believe in. God bless😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love what your doing Dayo, please keep on the Good work. Pls do not forget those that need your advice in order to excel in their profession.

    Remember me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

